CEL, OBD II Won't Scan, Already Tried Searching - Ford Bronco Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2009, 10:54 PM Thread Starter

Bronco Info: '96 Bronco XLT / '99 F250 Diesel
CEL, OBD II Won't Scan, Already Tried Searching

PROBLEM SOLVED.

Hey guys,

I'm new to the Bronco world, but by no means new to forums.

I just picked up a Green '96 XLT with 142xxx on the clock and a 302 under the hood!! I've always liked Broncos, and figured since I've owned Dodge and Chevy trucks, it was time to try a Ford. I basically got it as a winter beater, but it's going to be my dd as I put my STi in the garage

My problem is this - I've got a CEL on, and I can't get my OBD II scanner to work. I looked in the fuse box, low and behold I'm missing the fuse for the cigarette lighter and OBD, so I threw one in from another port.

Well, the problem didn't go away. I'm not getting power to the scanner, and I'm pretty sure I'm doing everything right. I need to pass inspection in NJ in a couple weeks, and really need to fix the CEL first.

The guy I bought it from told me it was an o2 sensor, but I don't really trust his word, I'd rather find out what it needs myself.

Anybody know the least expensive way I can go about diagnosing these problems or anyone live in the Boston area that's willing to give me a hand?

Thanks for the help. I look forward to enjoying my new Bronco and have a new forum to play on.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 09:49 AM Thread Starter

ideas....anybody?
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 10:13 AM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 127k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Are you sure the fuse you threw in didn't pop upon insertion? Was it the right amperage also?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 10:37 AM

Bronco Info: 96 Bronco XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
X man,