1995 Premium sound amp bypass harness - Ford Bronco Forum
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
truebluefordman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Billngs, MT
Posts: 119
Bronco Info: '95 Bronco XLT 5.8/E4OD
iTrader: (0)
Garage
1995 Premium sound amp bypass harness

Hey guys, have a '95 XLT with premium sound. Previous owner installed an aftermarket CD deck in it. Front speakers don't work. I pulled out the radio and made sure all the connections were right, noticed it had the small square plug for premium sound (not my first one of these).

I'm guessing the front two channels in the stock amp burned out.

Looking for a bypass harness for the amp but not having any luck. On my old '96 Eddie bauer I cut and spliced all the wires but would love to find a connector for under $20 and just plug it in and be done.

Who makes what I need?

'77 F-150 2WD RCLB Build in progress
'78 F-150 4x4 SOLD
'94 F-150 Lightning SOLD
'95 Bronco XLT 5.8/E4OD Cheap thrills
'96 Bronco EB 5.0/E4OD SOLD
truebluefordman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 12:12 PM
Registered User
 
broncomcq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 66
Bronco Info: 1996 Eddie Bauer K&N Cold Air Intake, Warn Premium Manual Hubs, BFG All Terrain Radials
iTrader: (0)
Go to Crutchfield.com. They have adapters that might work.

broncomcq
broncomcq is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 07:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 261
Bronco Info: 1994 5.8 XLT in need of TLC
iTrader: (0)
Google for Metra 70-5514 it's available from a lot of sources.
rufus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-17-2014, 12:32 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
You're working against reality.


1) Unplug the dash wiring from the amp harness.
2) Plug it into the standard adapter for the non-amplified radio.



Steve83 is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
truebluefordman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Billngs, MT
Posts: 119
Bronco Info: '95 Bronco XLT 5.8/E4OD
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Steve I think I get your meaning but don't think I have the right connector for that. I have an aftermarket stereo with an adapter harness plugged in to the factory plugs.

Are you saying unplug the harness from the stock amp and route it up to the CD player harness and plug it in there? The small plug or big one?

I'm going off memory, I'll have to pull the deck out and have a look again.

'77 F-150 2WD RCLB Build in progress
'78 F-150 4x4 SOLD
'94 F-150 Lightning SOLD
'95 Bronco XLT 5.8/E4OD Cheap thrills
'96 Bronco EB 5.0/E4OD SOLD
truebluefordman is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 07:16 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
So you currently have a "CD player-to-factory premium sound wiring" adapter, and you don't want to use the premium sound amp any more.
1a) Unplug the adapter from the factory premium sound connectors (which are on the amp harness).
1b) Unplug the dash harness from the amp harness (NOT the connectors on the actual amp - follow that wiring, and find the 2 long flat right-angle connectors).
2a) Buy a "CD player-to-standard radio wiring" adapter, and splice it to the CD wires.
2b) Plug the dash harness into the adapter.
3) Sell the amp & its wiring.
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/169273



Steve83 is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 07:23 PM
Thread Killa
 
jowens1126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,513
Bronco Info: 1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer edition, 302 MAF, E4OD
iTrader: (2)
What he is saying is, Unplug the premium amp, remove all the plugs going to it. Hell Take that sucker completely out.

You should be left with 2 factory connectors. C257 and C258 as shown in the diagram below.


Metra makes adaptors for those 2 connectors (70-5514). They come in a kit available at Best Buy. Plug those into C257 and C258 and wire the rest to your new head unit. Your done.



You will only use the 2 long ones. The other 2 are throw aways. If your wiring doesnt come back to the two connectors stated above, then your wiring has been hacked somewhere along the line. Its in there somewhere, you will just have to find where it got cut and put it back together.
CZ Eddie likes this.

1994 EB Bronco, 302 MAF, E4OD, BW1356, Slightly Customized Interior
"Demanding something free on top of a discount is just being a Democrat. - Steve83"

My Build Thread - http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=191067
jowens1126 is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 11:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 5.8L, 1993 Eddie Bauer 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
I have a 1994 Bronco with premium sound apparently because i have the 257 or 258 connector as shown in the pic aboove AND the 282 connector that plugs in to the bottom of my amp. I bought a kit and it had a wide connector that plugged into the 257 (or 258), and one for the 282, but that one didn't have the notches for it to slide in to correctly. It is the plug in the top left of the pic of 4 plugs above. it was essentially the same size and shape but wouldn't slide in due to needing the cutouts in the plug to fit the one coming from the amp. Is there another plug i missed on the top of side of the amp and is there a different kit i need to get? thanks.
aw2055989 is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)
Trust these guys and get the kit if possible. II didn't on my 95 and it resulted in one big night long headache of splicing wires together lol.
pparts02 is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 5.8L, 1993 Eddie Bauer 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
So you currently have a "CD player-to-factory premium sound wiring" adapter, and you don't want to use the premium sound amp any more.
1a) Unplug the adapter from the factory premium sound connectors (which are on the amp harness).
1b) Unplug the dash harness from the amp harness (NOT the connectors on the actual amp - follow that wiring, and find the 2 long flat right-angle connectors).
2a) Buy a "CD player-to-standard radio wiring" adapter, and splice it to the CD wires.
2b) Plug the dash harness into the adapter.
3) Sell the amp & its wiring.
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/169273

I'm looking at this pic of the amp and it's wiring that Steve83 has posted. The 2 plugs on the bottom of the amp are what run up to the stereo. it looks like there is a harness that plugs into the right side on that pic that must go out to the speakers? I am confused on what plugs coming from the stereo plug in to what using the bypass harness. The harness I bought is just 1 harness with a long flat plug on one end and a square plug on the other. It has eight wires, 2 each of white, green, gray and purple. Do I plug the flat plug into the plug that goes into the bottom left of the amp and the square plug in to the plug on the right of the amp that goes to the speakers? thanks.
aw2055989 is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 06:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 4,485
Bronco Info: '96 Black 302 XLT - '94 Green 351 E. B. both E4OD, 3.55 axles, 31 10.50x15 & a 2018 CT6
iTrader: (3)
Here's the EVTM schematic of the OEM premium sound. Maybe it will help.



http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/1017246_1

"The simplest solution is usually the best solution" - Occam's Razor
How in the world are you going to fix it if you donít know how it worked in the first place?
"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein
Mikey350 is online now  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 06:18 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aw2055989 View Post
I'm looking at this pic... I am confused... Do I plug the flat plug into the plug that goes into the bottom left of the amp and the square plug in to the plug on the right of the amp that goes to the speakers?
This would be a LOT easier for all of us if you'd upload pics of what you're working with, AND specify what the truck had before you started, and what you want it to end up with.

You need to identify which connectors the truck has, and what you've bought to modify the truck. On the dash wiring harness, there are always only 2 radio connectors: 1 for power, and 1 for speakers (for all radios with speaker-level output). If the truck has factory premium sound, there will be an intermediate (amplifier) harness with 6 connectors: 2 to fit the dash connectors; 2 for the amp; & 2 for the premium (line-level output) radio. An aftermarket kit might have 3 connectors: 2 for the dash connectors & 1 for the premium radio line-level connector.



Steve83 is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 07:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 5.8L, 1993 Eddie Bauer 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
1994 Bronco, has premium sound. I am replacing an aftermarket CD player with another one. I am using the same aftermarket harness adapter for the new one that I had for the old one. It has 2 connectors on it, one square for the speakers, and one longer flat one for the power. I plugged in the new unit and it powers up fine, but no sound. After reading many posts about this, I assumed the amp was out. I bought an amp bypass harness that has 8 wires with 2 different connectors on each end, one square and one longer flat one. I assumed I could unplug the 2 matching connecters where they plug into the amp and plug in my bypass harness to them and be done but that won't work as the square plug on the bypass harness doesn't fit the square plug that I took out of the amp. My amp and wiring looks 100% like the picture in the link in the above post. At this point I have completely removed the amp. I am confused because it looks like the square and longer flat connector coming from the dash plugs into the amp, but nothing comes out of the amp. there is a connector that is mounted on the side of the amp but nothing plugs into it, it is capped off, just like in the picture I previously mentioned. I can take pics if necessary tomorrow. thanks for all the help.

Last edited by aw2055989; 01-12-2015 at 08:20 PM. Reason: Upload Pics
aw2055989 is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 08:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 5.8L, 1993 Eddie Bauer 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
Well I want to upload pics but it won't let me upload attachments. For some reason my posting rules are I can't upload attachments or I can't post new threads. I sent a PM to the person that sent me a welcome message when I joined but I never got a response as to why I can't post except for replies. Sorry, if I can get that fixed I have pics of all the connectors I'm dealing with.
aw2055989 is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 09:32 PM
Registered User
 
pfun41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Florida
Posts: 9,116
Bronco Info: 1994 Bronco 5.0 liter e4od factory MAF, 130 amp 3g, auxillary transmission filter and cooler.
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aw2055989 View Post
Well I want to upload pics but it won't let me upload attachments. For some reason my posting rules are I can't upload attachments or I can't post new threads. I sent a PM to the person that sent me a welcome message when I joined but I never got a response as to why I can't post except for replies. Sorry, if I can get that fixed I have pics of all the connectors I'm dealing with.
Upload them to a picture hosting site like supermotors or photobucket. Then link them here.

My Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/pfun41#p/a
The going get tough, the tough get debt
Don't pay attention, pay the rent
Next of kins pay for your sins
A little faith should keep us safe
pfun41 is offline  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 12:59 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aw2055989 View Post
Well I want to upload pics...
http://www.supermotors.net/forums/th...-and-or-videos



Steve83 is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-14-2015, 12:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 16
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 5.8L, 1993 Eddie Bauer 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
I believe i can simplify this. After removing the amp, i have the 257 plug for power at the dash, correct? My confusion is, where is the 258 plug that i plug the speaker adapter into? the only speaker connection i see is the one for premium sound and that went to the now removed amp. I have an unused plug hanging off the side of the amp, is that it? thanks.
aw2055989 is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-14-2015, 08:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
C258M is part of the dash (main) harness assembly. C258F is only on the mating end of the premium sound (amp) harness. For non-premium trucks, C258M plugs directly into the non-premium radio. Look near the center of this pic, below the red connector:
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/907910

There is no "unused" connector on the amp harness - there are 6 as I said before. But if you REMOVED the amp, then you MUST also remove the amp harness. The harness only works with the factory amp.



Steve83 is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 11:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)
Almost glad I just cut the plug ins out and spliced mine together. it was a pain at first but once you figured out the amp situation it went in quickly.
pparts02 is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 05:28 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,383
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
That was pointless. Unplugging the amp harness would have been quicker & easier, and you wouldn't have ruined a part that's not available new.



Steve83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome