New cables after Alternator Upgrade in a 96 - Page 2 - Ford Bronco Forum
 28Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 32 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 12:29 AM
Registered User
 
fordbronco1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,339
Bronco Info: 95 FSB Ox Wht. Blue Int. 5.8 33" nittos 18" fuel wheels.
iTrader: (2)
On rock auto as well,

https://www.rockauto.com/en/parts/mo...und+strap,2716

The end with the eyelet is the one that goes to that pita place to reach against the block right, i cleaned mine down there a few years ago but had to replace my neg terminal fairly recently with one of those ones that smashes the wire with the plate using two bolts. May be time to snag one lol
Bruners4 likes this.

EVERYTHING MANUAL EXCEPT THE TRANSMISSION:
fordbronco1995 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 11:06 AM
Fullsize Member
 
sharpshooter109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 715
Bronco Info: 1987 Bronco 302/NP435
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpancho View Post
dash_cam,

Would there be any issue if the green wire is in the same wire loom as the charge cable? Not sure if them touching would cause any issue, I ran 4ga charge cable with the stock green wire within the loom.

Sorry for digging up old thread.
i dont think its a big deal, but here's the only problem i can think of. if the green wire and the charge cable both wore away the insulation, the charge cable could cause the green wire to be hot all the time. if that happens the green wire will always be hot, meaning the voltage regulator will always be on. this could drain down your battery, but im not sure if it would cause any bigger problems. probably nothing to worry about.

87 Bronco EFI 302, NP435
Sweet Melissa (Red and White 87)
Bad Luck Bronco (Blue and White 89)
i used photobucket to embed images here. since they screwed me and quit hosting 3rd party images without warning i have tried to fix all MY broken links on the site here. if you notice any of MY posts with a broken link or missing image, please PM me with a link to the thread and i will fix it.
sharpshooter109 is offline  
post #23 of 32 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 01:09 PM
Fullsize Member
 
elpancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 525
Bronco Info: '96 XLT, 351W, E4OD/BW1356, BFG 33x12.5 KM2, JBG Level Kit
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpshooter109 View Post
i dont think its a big deal, but here's the only problem i can think of. if the green wire and the charge cable both wore away the insulation, the charge cable could cause the green wire to be hot all the time. if that happens the green wire will always be hot, meaning the voltage regulator will always be on. this could drain down your battery, but im not sure if it would cause any bigger problems. probably nothing to worry about.
Thanks, this is a great answer. For peace of mind, i'll give the green wire it's own loom and zip tie them together.

Thanks again.
elpancho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 32 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 08:20 AM
Registered User
 
fordbronco1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,339
Bronco Info: 95 FSB Ox Wht. Blue Int. 5.8 33" nittos 18" fuel wheels.
iTrader: (2)
How in the hell do you get to it lol, looks like its buried in there, i can see it from the wheel well but it looks tight. I know where the eyelet is that bolts to the block

EVERYTHING MANUAL EXCEPT THE TRANSMISSION:
fordbronco1995 is offline  
post #25 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 07:12 PM
Registered User
 
Ojbronco4thewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New York
Posts: 413
Bronco Info: 1995 Xlt 5.8l 351w with e4od and electronic shift. Manual locking hubs.
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordbronco1995 View Post
How in the hell do you get to it lol, looks like its buried in there, i can see it from the wheel well but it looks tight. I know where the eyelet is that bolts to the block
The one on the frame? I stood on the tire and got a 1/4 ratchet in from the battery side to break it loose. And then I have a sweet 1/4 driver that I used to remove and reinstall it.

The block one I got down underneath and used a wrench to run it out.
Ojbronco4thewin is offline  
post #26 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-09-2019, 06:34 PM
Registered User
 
fordbronco1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,339
Bronco Info: 95 FSB Ox Wht. Blue Int. 5.8 33" nittos 18" fuel wheels.
iTrader: (2)
I ordered one, Got the cable installed today, man thats a pita where the cable bolts throught the bracket for that charcoal canister line and the smog pump wtf in the way of everything, tight fit but Got it done though, i did notice however that tab on the new cable has to be bent up just a little to clear the line below it, the new one isnt bent exactly like the factory cable, you can also tweak that line thats below the cable down on the front side of the engine crossmember to free things up a bit. Cleaned up the block and the frame, also got a new metal strap to go around the charcoal canister line, metal on the factory metal strap was thin and rusty. It seems as though it is much happier starting, sounds healthy
dash_cam likes this.

EVERYTHING MANUAL EXCEPT THE TRANSMISSION:
fordbronco1995 is offline  
post #27 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 12:18 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Rolling_Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 65
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco XLT, 351W, E4OD
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spktyr View Post
96s and all other Aeros do not need to have their brackets altered as they already came with a 3G alternator. Bricknose trucks *do*.

They make smaller terminals that attach between the terminal and your wire. In fact, they make some that let you connect the Ford alternator terminal to a 0 or 00 gauge wire or bigger.

A new battery to solenoid/fuse/whatever cable is rarely a bad idea when upgrading like this. However, it's not strictly necessary.
Howdy, all.

I'm interested in doing this, but in reading the red text in this post, I'm wondering if this means my 1995 is an "Aero" and will not need the bracket to be modified.

The post about using welding cable reminded me of a machine we had at work, had a 5V 150A power supply, and it had those 600V welding cables with crimp-on connectors that went to solid copper (tin plated) bus bars. Beefy stuff, but the power was as solid as you'd ever find.

Let me think of something deep and pithy to write here...
Rolling_Thunder is offline  
post #28 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 03:24 PM
Thread Killa
 
jowens1126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,495
Bronco Info: 1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer edition, 302 MAF, E4OD
iTrader: (2)
Yes your good to go, just get one of those high amp alternators from bronco graveyard and it's a simple swap. You will just need to upgrade your battery cables to 1/0 and use solder on terminals.
Rolling_Thunder likes this.

1994 EB Bronco, 302 MAF, E4OD, BW1356, Slightly Customized Interior
"Demanding something free on top of a discount is just being a Democrat. - Steve83"

My Build Thread - http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=191067
jowens1126 is offline  
post #29 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 04:44 PM
Wild Cayuse
 
BigBlue 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hoyt, Kansas
Posts: 8,482
Bronco Info: 85 Bronco, 309ci I6 w/4bbl, np435, 4" lift, 37" Irok NDs, 4.56 w/ Detroit Locker and tru trac
iTrader: (5)
Garage
Yep, 92-96 are the "aero nose"

I bought my 1/0 cable and terminal ends at the local AirGas welding supply. The reason to use welding cable is the strands are very small so the cable stays real flexible.
Rolling_Thunder likes this.

Vote for Full-size Of The Month in January, March, May,
July, and September!

FOTM forum section
BigBlue 94 is offline  
post #30 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 05:15 PM
Registered User
 
fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: PNW
Posts: 1,504
Bronco Info: '92 Custom
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I believe the 3G doesn't show up on Broncos until '93, so the first year of Aero's is still 2G.

'92 Bronco Build Thread - '95 MAF 5.0, H5 axle code, York OBA.
http://www.supermotors.net/28006
fodder is offline  
post #31 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2019, 05:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fodder View Post
I believe the 3G doesn't show up on Broncos until '93, so the first year of Aero's is still 2G.
Yupp. you are right.
I logged in to mention this but you beat me to it

Also, you can get the 130A 3G with the correct mounts for a bolt in to a 93 up Bronco by getting one from an Explorer, Taurus Mustang and few other vehicles.

Look for the holes on the face of it. 4 holes grouped together is the Bronco stock 95A and 2 holes grouped together is the 130A 3G


picture courtesy of Steve83
fodder and Rolling_Thunder like this.
Native_Viking is offline  
post #32 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 12:55 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Rolling_Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 65
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco XLT, 351W, E4OD
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowens1126 View Post
Yes your good to go, just get one of those high amp alternators from bronco graveyard and it's a simple swap. You will just need to upgrade your battery cables to 1/0 and use solder on terminals.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlue 94 View Post
Yep, 92-96 are the "aero nose"

I bought my 1/0 cable and terminal ends at the local AirGas welding supply. The reason to use welding cable is the strands are very small so the cable stays real flexible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fodder View Post
I believe the 3G doesn't show up on Broncos until '93, so the first year of Aero's is still 2G.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Native_Viking View Post
Yupp. you are right.
I logged in to mention this but you beat me to it

Also, you can get the 130A 3G with the correct mounts for a bolt in to a 93 up Bronco by getting one from an Explorer, Taurus Mustang and few other vehicles.

Look for the holes on the face of it. 4 holes grouped together is the Bronco stock 95A and 2 holes grouped together is the 130A 3G


picture courtesy of Steve83
Many thanks, all! This is all great news to me - hoping to get to this next - after I replace all my pool pump and all that stuff (swimming season is coming and my stock 95A is still working, priorities...).

I still haven't given up on the possibility of replacing the smog pump with a secondary alternator and adding in a backup electrical system, but that's seeming a bit off the charts for now. If this were to be a vehicle I tow a trailer with for camping and such, I'd be pretty hot for it, but the tranny seems a bit weak to do any of that just yet, and my priorities are to first, make this a viable mode of transportation, but every piece I put in will be to make it better suited for camping in more remote areas or bugging out.
BigBlue 94 likes this.

Let me think of something deep and pithy to write here...
Rolling_Thunder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome