Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im sure this has been asked about 1000 times, but what is a good 110v welder? I intend on narrowing a ford cab, so it needs to be able to weld together thin sheet metal and tack backets and such together. For deep welds i'll use a pro shop. Basically gonna use it to reweld a body back together and to mock up fabricated brackets. Thanks.....

·
Premium Member
5,396 Posts

·
Registered
9,863 Posts
i have the lincoln weld pack 100hd mig. it works well for what i use it for. it does sheet metal prettywell.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Whats the difference between flux core and gass?? Im a noob here. My dad raised me on stick and thats all i've ever used!

·
Premium Member
5,396 Posts
Whats the difference between flux core and gass?? Im a noob here. My dad raised me on stick and thats all i've ever used!
in short, flux core sucks, and gas is way better...

with gas, there is shielding gas used. with flux core, you use different wire (flux core wire) which costs quite a bit more, but it doesn't need gas... gas is a lot nicer to work with than flux core too. i'd recommend getting a welder that accepts gas, that way you have the ability.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Cool, im gonna try to narrow a 1963 f100 cab 8" so i need a good welder that does not require 210 or cost me an arm and a leg to get the job done. I live in a duplex, so i have no garage, so at the end of the day i need to be able to pack it up and take it inside!

·
Registered
9,130 Posts
The Lincoln 140 would be the one I'd recommend.

I have a 180 I use for smaller stuff and a big stick machine for heavy work.

There's nothing wrong with flux core, but it's way less convenient for sheet metal work than something with shielding gas. Flex core is basically like stick, only the flux is on the inside.