Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HOWDEE!
I AM RUNNING SUPER SWAMPER IROK'S
36*13.5*15. I USE THIS TRUCK AS A DAILY DRIVER, I CURRENTLY HAVE MY STOCK GEARS 3:55, I WILL LIKE TO KNOW WHAT GEAR RATIO YOU GUYS ARE RUNNING WITH THIS SIZE OF TIRE! I WANT TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE IT IN THE CITY AND HIGHWAY AS-WELL!
I FOLLOWED SOME FORMULA TO FIGURE OUT THE GEAR RATIO AND I CAME UP WITH 4:27, I AM NOT SURE IF A 4:56 GEAR RATIO WILL BE TO LOW OF A GEAR AND MY ENGINE WILL BE SCREAMING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS!
ENGINE IS A 351 / 5.8LITER
MEINEKE GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF $500.00 FOR LABOR ONLY, AND I GET THE GEARS! ANY IDEAS ON A GOOD BRAND OF GEARS, I KNOW MOTORSPORTS IS SUPPOSE TO BE THE BEST, BUT I WAS TOLD THEY DON'T GO LOWER THAN 4:10' S

·
Banned
5,475 Posts
Damn, take those cap locks off.:histerica

Most people on here are running 4:56 with those size of tires, personally I don't know how it would run since got 31s and stock gears.

·
Registered
5,407 Posts
I bump 4.56....

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
With an OD manual transmission, 4.10s and 32s I'm turning about 2500rpms at 60mph. I'd think you'd be fine with 4.56s, especially with an OD transmission.

·
FSB warrior
6,117 Posts
Ya woulda been nice to know what tranny, C-6 I might say 4.10 any OD tranny 4.56

·
FSB warrior
6,117 Posts
Go with 4.10s then.

·
Registered
259 Posts
I would pull the trans info to make sure it is not a AOD.

·
Registered
259 Posts
You could be right the trans code for C6 is G and AOD is T

·
Registered
155 Posts
With 36s 4.10s with a 351 is going to be OK at highway speed, but a real dog otherwise. 4.56s are giong to be better off the line but screaming high on the freeway. That's just the way it is until you get a real motor to turn those big tires.
Oh yeah, and if you can't afford good quality gears (Dana/Spicer, Richmond, Precision, Ford) than just deal with the crappy ratio until you can, cheap gears are NEVER worth it.

·