Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1994 Ford Bronco 5.8
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I’m new to this page, I bought a 1994 bronco couple months ago. Everything was fine, till I started driving it. Sometimes it drives perfect, but sometimes it makes a grinding noise when I put it on D. I have to start it on 1 or 2 then move up to D and it drives fine. When I come to a stop it jerks. It was showing the VSS sensor I replaced it code went away but it still does it.

·
Super Moderator
29,116 Posts
Yo Txbronco94
WELCOME!

E4OD Transmission Control Indicator Light (TCIL) is a LED and overdrive on/off switch at end of the Transmission shifter stalk; flashing OD light is an indication of a transmission related trouble code in the Powertrain Control Module (PCM).
Is it flashing while driving?

One possibility is the shift cable needs adjustment;

"Transmission Shift Control Cable Adjustment
CAUTION⚠: Under no circumstances should the cable be adjusted in any position other than (D) (overdrive) for the E4OD automatic transmission.

From inside the vehicle, place the gearshift lever (7210) in the the OVERDRIVE position (E4OD). Hang a three-pound weight on the gearshift lever.
  1. Raise vehicle on a hoist and position suitable safety stands under vehicle.

1. Remove the shift cable from the transmission lever ball stud.

1. Pull down the lock tab on the shift cable body.

1. Position the gearshift lever in the DRIVE position (C6) or the OVERDRIVE position (E4OD). This is three detents from the front-most lever position with the first position counting as one.

1. Connect the cable end fitting to the transmission lever ball stud.

1. Push up on the lock tab to lock the cable in the correctly adjusted position.

1. Remove safety stands and lower vehicle from hoist. Remove the three-pound weight from the gearshift lever.