Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still in search of my first full size Bronco, having missed out on the $150 1984...:duh
I found a 1995, Sport package, 156,000 highway miles, the seller says it has a lifter noise at startup. I haven't heard in person yet, will this weekend. What would I be looking at to replace the lifters? Should more be done with such high mileage? TIA!

·
Registered
470 Posts
You would need to remove the intake, and then loosen the rocker arms to remove the pushrods. I'm no master mechanic, and I am sure i will get some stupid remark for my post, but i think you would be better off just overhauling the entire engine. But not if the engine is still strong, then it might be worth it to just replace a lifter.

·
FSB warrior
6,118 Posts
while your in there do a cam swap.. you get the lifters as part of the package... and while your in there... do a timing chain, ei double roller.

·
hates EVERYTHING!
11,456 Posts
156K?? I'd do the ovehaul too! I may catch shit for this one but personaly I had a reman. from Ford put in mine. It's a lil more pricey than a rebuilt from your local shop but you can't beat the 36/36 warrenty (which the older you get the more you appreiceate such things)! Also the cool thing about the Ford engine is that no matter where you are when/if something goes wrong you just call up the local Ford dealership and say come fix this junk!:thumbup

·
Registered
463 Posts
ive got 262000 miles on my '95, what do u guys think about a replacement or a rebuild? i pull a trailer hundereds of miles every weekend & its still plenty strong. should i replace or rebuild? or leave it?

·
FSB warrior
6,118 Posts
You guys really need to do some price comparo's.... $1999 for a 100% new 320 HP long block or 1700 just for yours to get rebuilt.... or 1500 just for a reman ground down cam, blow by to ease break in... different brand valves, different length push rods...