Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just had, K&N intake, JBA headers, Hi-Flow Catalytic converter, High flow muffler, all about 2 3/4 pipes I think. Anyway the whole job was about $2,000.

Was that way too much to pay for? I had it done at off road warehouse.

Not a duel , single pipe, was told other was going to be too much.

This is my impressions so far. I can't really tell the difference in power... The low end torque seems reduced.

My truck is 1993 Bronco with 5.8 liter V8. This is my third Bronco but I am new to this business of customizing. Also after the work now i have lots of backfiring.

Thanks much,

Rich

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sht

i fiquered such... but it was too late..

Off Road Warehouse has a good reputation in San Diego, I have bought stuff from them before I did not question the price till I was half way into it.

i dont even see a freeken difference in power, and the engine is running 10x as rough as before also its not even dual exaust ......

·
Registered
3,542 Posts
Sorry to hear your woes but yes, you did pay to much.:banghead

Live and learn. At least you got it from a shop that will hopfully stand behind their work.

Personally I think your pipe is to big. A 2.5" pipe would help build power quicker at lower RPM's or even a slightly more restrictive muffler would help with low end gains and a large pipe.

I'd say to look for gains with that set up in the mid to upper area of your power band. Remember you have put on Hi flow parts that don't restrict as much air and it will now take longer to build up back pressure.

You have inreased your engine's breathing ability, wich is a good thing, but you might have gone to far for what your engine needs or where you were looking for gains in performance in its power band.

·
shibby
4,828 Posts
rich0077 said: