Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seeing I'm not wanting a quarter mile monster or some swamp mudder. Seeing the engine swap is out, I've seem to have found three cams that I might need some help with. Looking for direction and if I'm going the wrong route tell me I'm wrong. You might of guess, ya I'm new to building trucks.

Plus need some schooling on the big difference is between 1.6 and 1.7 roller rockers. My guess one might be an issue with PTV (piston to valve) clearance and they help with keeping the valve open longer. Long with the need to use taller valve covers with these two.

Dont know if this helps though - Will be going with 4.10 gears (front / back) later this year. Right now running on 32x11.5x15 with a 3.55 open differential n it really sucks.

First, back story on the engine in the truck now: in a 1993 truck, Remanufactured engine, round (little less) then 10K miles on it, has a 10% increase in power cam - so I'm told by Jasper, switching over to MAF from SD/MAP (have the kit from Fiveology) and will be using GT40 heads from a lightning. Picking them up this weekend.

I will be dropping off the heads next week to be ported, de burred, decked, and port matched to the intake and headers plus using new 1.85 intake and 1.54 ex valves. I have the original rockers for these heads, still if I'm going new valves, springs, seats, and retainers I might as well go new rockers - right? I know some machine work will be needed to install the new roller rockers if they are not pedestal mounted. Long with this the intake will be cleaned up, glass beaded, and port matched to the t/b and lower.

Cam kits I'm looking at - the Comp Cam kit 35-512-8, the Comp Cam kit 35-510-8, then the Comp Cam kit 35-349-8. Each kit will come with lifters, timing chain, valve springs, etc.