Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Bronco Scene I Just bought this one and it's a 92 full size with a 302. The oil pan is leaking like crazy. I am going to change it this weekend. what I was Curious about is How do I do it Will I have to unbolt the Motor Mounts? Can I Get away with cutting the Gasket? Just any pointers you could give a new Bronco owner! Thanks alot
Al

·
Registered
2,893 Posts
The tranny mount can stay on there. You do have to unbolt the engine mounts though and lift the engine as high as you can. If you want to actually remove the pan and not just drop it down on the crossmember you'll have to unbolt the oil pump and drop it down inside the pan too. Then when you go back to reinstall it place the oil pump in the pan and wiggle the pan in place. Bolt the pump back up and then bolt the pan on. Its kind of a bitch.

·
Registered
4,634 Posts
use the nice felpro sure dry or whatever its called. Its blue with metal rings around the bolt holes. Trust me, you dont want to do it again.

When I did mine, I had to remove the pan completely, you wont really have to, but I had to unbolt the exhuast, cut the y pipe, raise the motor, then wiggle it out.

You wont have to go that far, but use the little pegs that come with the gasket, they help out a TON.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Cool Deal Thanks for the info One more Question will I Just manuver the pan gasket underneath the Pick up?? Or is there another way... sorry for all the questions I am just preparing myself Cause I only have the shop with lift avaiable for afour hours I want to make sure I Have all my Ducks in a row!
Later
Al

·
Registered
2,893 Posts