Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
crank trigger
8,150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sorry to start a thread on this, but i am a carb noob. they suck.
but anyway, i wanted to check my understanding for setting initial timing.
i have 2bbl and mallory vacuum advance dizzy.
should a miracle occur and i get the carb running like it should, i would then set the idle per spec for having an auto (rolling with a C5 though i have not picked up the rig to count bolts etc).
I remove the vacuum line from the dizzy.
I plug the vacuum port on the dizzy.
I then set the timing with the light. I am thinking around 10 btdc.
for fine tuning i will have to get it under load and advance it til it pings.
then back it off a few degrees.
does this sound right?

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Your on the right track, with my experance most 335 blocks will run best with a base timing of 10-12 deg BTDC. You can also use a vacum gauge to find a good base timing for your engine. Good luck.

·
Registered
247 Posts
I've got a bigger cam in mine, as of recent, and I'm trying to decide on a good timming point. The cam is ground with 4* of advance into it, and it's installed straight up, so it's basically installed 4* advance. Should I keep it at around the factory 11* mark? I'm looking for best performance...right now it's set around 14 or so...but, I'm getting a wierd popping noise through my exhaust...not a back fire, or a misfire...just a fairly audible "pop" for lack of better words. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,825 Posts