Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Joisey don't smell funny
1,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, first some background. So I have a 460 in my 78, behind that is a ZF5-42 & divorced NP205. Gears are 4:11, and I'm now running 37" treads.

The 460 I bought newly rebuilt from a guy in PA that said he was going to use it for a project but changed his mind. It came long block, and the heads were EFI. I don't know the exact specs on it unfortunately. I cleaned & reworked my fuelie heads, mild exhaust porting/matching, smog bumps about gone, new oil seals, springs, keepers, rods. He had lifters already in. I used standard rockers. It looked like a stock timing set, but I'm no expert in that arena and I don't know the cam specs.

After a few months of driving and tweaking and not really being happy with the power or the fuel consumption, I changed out the whole intake. Swapped the edlebrock performer for a Weiand Stealth dual plane, and the Edlebrock 650 for a Summit holley style 600cfm, vac secondary. Sanderson block huggers into 3" dual exhaust, high flow muffler. It's a little loud, but not obnoxious.
I read a pile of forum threads, watched numerous youtube vids, and kept playing with the timing & such. Here's where I'm at:

It's 10-11* BTC at 850 rpm idle. I'm using ported vacuum for the advance. Manifold vacuum is at 21 at idle. I haven't run it out yet, as it feels like I need to shift up by the time I hit 3500, and with the ZF, I'm in fifth gear in no time doing 70mph. At 3500 it sounds like it's almost screaming at wide open, but maybe I'm just scared of it, lol. I'm not comfortable doing over 70 with 37's on a brinks truck wannabe!