Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1992 Bronco Eddie Bauer, 351W, E4OD, 3.55, 33x10.5 mostly stock at this point
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to broncos and have been doing a bunch of reading on the FSB site, ive collected as much info as I think i need to diagnose the issue. Long story short I can get it to shift to 4hi, but i cannot get it to go into 4 low.

I got out the multi-meter and tested at the module for the neutral switch and found it to be activating fine in neutral. I checked power at all the power lines coming to the module and found them to be good. I did the self test on the module itself and it came back 4 flashes which means good from what ive read. At this point im thinking that the motor on the Tcase is possibly not giving a correct signal of "location" back to the module which is in turn keeping the module from engaging 4lo. I don't hear any clicking or anything when i push the 4lo button, it just clicks and does nothing.

I have the bronco running in park, I go to 4hi, then shift to drive and then back to Neutral and then try the 4lo button. Unless im doing something wrong i feel like its likely time for a new shift motor. Any recommendations or tips? And if you agree with the motor replacement any brands you recommend buying over others?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Shift motor seems like the most likely culprit..... OEM ford is your best bet I'd say, aftermarket stuff on anything sucks. There is a way to use jumper wires in the plug on the switch to bench test but I dont remember how to do it.

If I where you (and I think I am ) I'd swap out the case for a manual operated (stick shift ) case.
Just my 2 cents.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
25,306 Posts
Yo Zachatola,
As Cheapthrill advised.
Try slapping the shift motor with a rubber (preferred) hammer. Shift motors seem to be #1 fault.
Electric Shift Motor Troubleshooting & Repair (travel stops)