Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone. I have a 94 FSB that I just bought that won't start. When I got it two weeks ago everything was running fine. Then I had it trucked to Florida and now it won't start. I had it running for a short drive around the neighborhood and then turned it off to do an oil change. I then immediately tried to start it up again and it wouldn't crank. I thought it was going to be the battery or battery terminal connections so I checked them first. Here's what happens after cleaning the terminals, making sure they are on correctly, and checking the charge to the battery. I insert the key into the ignition, (all dash lights come on along with the ignition chime) turn the key and hear a click and I lose all power. If I then disconnect the battery and reconnect it, the power comes back on, but I again am unable to start the engine and lose all power again. I am new to this engine but it seems as if a relay has gone bad because it seems to be resetting itself after I disconnect and then reconnect the battery terminals and then blowing when I try to crank the engine.. I checked all of the fuses I could find and they all look fine. I really am at a loss here and could use any advice you may have. :banghead I realize that I put 5.7 in the title to this thread but it's actually a 5.8 engine. New guy making mistakes!

·
Premium Member
23,549 Posts
Put a dvm on the battery terminals and have someone crank the key. U probably have a bad cell in the battery. It could also be a bad battery cable.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I actually bought a new battery and put it in with the same results. Then I pulled the battery out of my friends 95 FSB and got the same results again.

·
Premium Member
23,549 Posts
Battery cables or connection's

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6