Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an '88 Bronco with the 300 six and the 5 speed, and a '92 Bronco with the 351 auto, I want to swap the 351, doors and front clip from the '92(no title) to the '88. What flywheel do I need to buy? I think I'll use the axles from my '78 Bronco on the '88, and the axles from my '79 F-350 in the '78 Bronco with the 460 and C-6 from another old truck.

·
Registered
226 Posts
advance auto parts part #50-735 for 351w the flywheel is diffrend between a 351 and 300

·
Registered
87 Posts
Are you putting the 351 with the 5 speed? I'm no expert, but Ford didn't use the M5OD with the 351. Maybe it doesn't matter...

·
Registered
3,491 Posts
M5OD is kinda weak and failure prone behind the 302.

The extra torque from the 351 won't make it happy. Add in big tires+off road driving and a ZF will likely be in your future.

That said, the M5OD will probably be fine for regular driving.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I kinda lucked out with the '88. I got it from the original owner who special ordered it with all kinds of cool upgrades, including the ZF. He told me that his sister who works for Ford is one of the people on the assembly line who built it. Not sure if I care if it is true or not, but it is a cool story. Besides, for only $150 for the Bronco how can I go wrong. The '92 donor Bronco was only $200.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
With your input, I got a new flywheel for a whopping $68. I'll be taking pics, and log the build. I am currently working on three Broncos, combining the '88 and '92, the other '92 EB, and a '78.

·
Registered
488 Posts