Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am a newb and posted in the introduction area. My Dad and I picked up a 78 rust free AZ truck to build as a project and we are looking for a 4" lift kit thats available with dual shock mount for the front and new leafs for the rears. I don't think the dual shocks are definetely needed, but Dad suggested it... Pro's /cons to the dual shock set up? 4" is an ample size, we are running 33's now and will possibly change to 35's but with a 4" its going to be a tight squeeze into the garage.

Any brands you all suggest or have had personal experience with, or heck some brands to stay away from?
Price really is not a huge concern, although would like to stay less than $1000 if possible.

truck pictured below on day of purchase.

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v618/cornfedwhitey/?action=view&current=Picture025.jpg

·
Premium Member
12,534 Posts
A 4" kit can be had for about 700. Check JeffsBroncoGraveyard.com for kits. 4" lift will clear 35's easily. Unless you have dual shocks stay with a single shock up front. There is no need to convert to a dual shock. With the technology the new shocks have a single shock work's fine.

·
www.lifted4christclub.com
2,708 Posts
can't go wrong with most of the lifts, most are high quality now. i would stick with single shock, that is all you'll need unless you are going to be jumping it all the time. you'll get a better street ride with single shocks up front. i'd spend the money and stay away from a block in the rear, either do 2 add a leafs or buy 4" lift spring pack for rear. i would replace all bushings with poly. bushings up front too. i've seen lifts for really good prices on ebay.

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Let me be the first to suggest Cage. The Bentley of lifts.

Check out Crazed Supermotors page to see the eye candy quad shock from Cage.

·
2,708 Posts