Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm starting to look for an '80-96 full-size Bronco for my next project (wrapping up the GF's '49 Jeep Willy's right now) and would like some input from those of you in the know on the FSB's.

This will be my first Bronco so I have no personal knowledge of the in's and out's of these things. . .

. . .do the frames have any weak points that deserve special attention?

This won't be a race vehicle (at least that's not the initial intention), but will be street legal pre-runner that will see off-road use. I'm planning on doing a 4-link rear and all new TTB in front with coilovers and bypasses. . .

. . .if more info is needed to answer the question just let me know.

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Frames don't have weak points per se. The frames were designed to flex. Stay away from the early trucks as they had large holes in teh frame. Plan on replacing the rivets with grd 8 hardware. Some folks prefer to bolt accessories (cage and such) others weld. They both hold up. The only part that I have ever seen crack on teh frame is teh cross member and that is from the lift kit brackets. Plan on going with cut and turned beams for strength. Look forward to you build. I have seen many of your posts on race dez and you bring up some interesting questions and points.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Damon1272!!!

I'm pretty disappointed to hear about the rivets in the frame though. . .you have no idea how much time, grinding wheels, or how many punches I went through hammering all the rivets out my GF's '49 Jeep Willy's frame!!!. . .not to mention the sore muscles and arms that I couldn't even lift over my head at the end of the day after going to town on countless number of rivets with a small sledge!!!

So the FSB frames are pretty solid. . .besides the crossmember would you suggest bracing/reinforcing the frame anywhere?