Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ill start this off by saying Hi, Im new and bought my first bronco in March so im still learning whats what.

I have a 1988 XLT 351w C6 trans. Its in pretty good shape overall. I have the dumb flange mount hubs that they put on 87-88s so I have decided to rebuild the front end to convert over to regular ones.

Now my main point to this thread. I found a 1980 Bronco on craigslist that a guy is selling as a parts truck. It has decent 35" tires and the drivetrain is in good shape. Would the front end from the 1980 be compatible with my 88 if I just wanted to swap the axle over?

·
FSB's Dirty Jersian
3,578 Posts
Ill start this off by saying Hi, Im new and bought my first bronco in March so im still learning whats what.

I have a 1988 XLT 351w C6 trans. Its in pretty good shape overall. I have the dumb flange mount hubs that they put on 87-88s so I have decided to rebuild the front end to convert over to regular ones.

Now my main point to this thread. I found a 1980 Bronco on craigslist that a guy is selling as a parts truck. It has decent 35" tires and the drivetrain is in good shape. Would the front end from the 1980 be compatible with my 88 if I just wanted to swap the axle over?
Welcome to FSB!

My question is why would you want to swap the whole axle? You are swapping the same thing over. It's not a solid axle in the 1980, they were only used in 78 & 79 fullsize bronco's. You'd be replacing independent front suspension with another independent front suspension... If you were looking to change the hubs (the lockouts that you turn with your hand to engage 4x4) that can be done way easier, and there is a write up on here, or you can google it = "bronco manual hub conversion"

·
Registered
104 Posts
You can just swap the axle, but you need to make sure the gearing is the same as your rear. With 35" tires it maybe lower geared.