Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Bronco scene, I've been a Mustang guy for a long time. Please don't hold that against me, I only say that to baseline my knowledge of the 302 engine.

Weird problem, I can't get to work without fixing this.

The truck startes fine, has plenty of power... Until, the Temp get to normal.
Then the engine surges, like it's not getting any fuel.

Here's the weird part, I'm driving along after the surging starts, lose all power, then I turn off the key and start the truck back up and away I go.. For about a minute or so, then the surging comes back. I turn off the ignition, start it back up and I'm running fine again for about a minute.

I switched out the air cleaner, spark plugs, distributor cap and rotor, fuel filter, Nothing.
I then flushed the radiator, since it seemed like a over heating issue (even thought the Temp reads normal), it was Kinda dirty.

When the flush was in, and I was waiting for the engine to warm up, the surging continued. When I was clearing the flush from the system, with the engine already warm, I found out something interesting. If I left the valve open to drain the radiator, and left the hose running cold water into the top of the radiator (Run until clear water comes out of drain plug) The surging went away. The power was back like normal. Cold water kept the problem from coming back.

My conclusion, most likely wrong and going down the wrong path. A temp sensor is bad, telling the computer that it's too hot and to shut down. If I turn off the truck the computer clears the error for 1 minute and the truck runs until the computer gets the error code. where would I find a sensor like this and can I replace/remove/bypass it for now?

Thanks in advance.

·
Practicing Infidel
15,308 Posts
Airjeir said: