Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having to charge my battery on the charger every couple days. I have a brand new alternator, battery (replaced these twice to be sure), new 2 gauge battery cables (all 3 of them), new solenoid, new starter, new alternator wiring harness, etc. And still... it won't keep the battery charged. I keep getting stuck about halfway to or from work losing power and having to pull off the road because the battery has died.
I'm fairly new to ford charging systems... is there something I am missing here? All grounds are in tact, battery, alternator and starter are new and tested good to be sure. WTF am I missing?

HELP!! ASAP! thanks

·
Registered
393 Posts
Geez, something is taxing the crap out of your battery, huh? Not many things could drain it dead like that, especially if it's going down while you're driving?!?!. I know you said you have a new alternator, is the belt tight? Sounds like the alternator isn't charging the battery at all...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok, first off, I do own a multimeter. I checked output of the alternator and got nearly 15 volts but when I attach the wire to the solenoid, it drops to around 12 (if that). the belt is tight and new.

Thanks for talking down to me steve, but when you having a charging system problem, and there's only a few charging system parts, it's usually a no brainer as to what the problem is. I work at Azone and at a garage, so I have a multitude of testing equipment at my disposal as well as replacement parts. However, I can't find anything wrong, so I turn to those that have similar vehicles with more experience and ask for help.

·
The Anti Yam!
22,674 Posts
Timberwolfz28 said:
I checked output of the alternator and got nearly 15 volts but when I attach the wire to the solenoid, it drops to around 12 (if that)..