Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys i am new to broncos. bought it a couple weeks ago but it has no power and glitches i guess you could say at low speeds. I have done a complete tune up replaced tps replaced coil fuel filter and am at the point where i just would rather swap the motor in from the 90 f150 in. the bronco is an 87 with a 302 as well. Now my question is how much changing around would be involved or is it a direct swap? Do I use the old ecm and harness or do those got to be swapped as well? Also the f150 is 4sp and 4x4 how much work would be involved in putting the 4sp in the bko that is an auto? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
10,000 Posts
FIRST before you go re-inventing the wheel swapping in a costly new engine, why not start with the basics and find out what's wrong with your current one by "pulling codes" from the vehicles computer to understand what "faults" are indicated so you can DIAGNOISE the problem rather then just throwing money at it....this is your first line of wrenching defense...

For how to pull codes and fault explanations go here: www.fordfuelinjection.com but you'll need a OBD-1 or OBD-2 Ford Code Reader with book to perform TESTS.

My 86 302 EFI uses the OBD-1 costs around $29.99......Kragen/O'Reillys....

Get yourself a Haynes Repair Manual ~ asap
www.broncolinks.com ~ additional tech source

Non OEM Mods can be difficult, IIRC swapping in a 4 speed requires hanging a clutch and brake pedal assembly, pressure plate/clutch, flywheel, tranny mounts, speedo cable, shift linkage/shifter and maybe moding the sheetmetal on the floor to accomodate the manual tranny...just for starters.....

For added performance you could add a set of GT40 or 40p heads and headers along with the Sixlitre "ignition and timing upgrade"....

Start with the simple $$$$ issues first and see what you come up with...

Good Luck ~ :thumbup

·
Registered