Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 93 5.0 EB with 4" lift 35" tires, headers, catco cat, flowmaster exhaust and 4.56 gears does it sound right to you guys that my trucks top speed is around 80 mph? I know the speedo is off, but I've checked my speed with both my GPS units and both show my speedo off by 10 mph, so I know I'm maxing out at 80. Just doesn't seem right to me, what do you think?

·
Registered
11,108 Posts
Nope, it's not right... regeared, you should have absolutely no problems getting above 80.

Start with pulling codes, consider a tuneup/sixlitre tuneup, check the basics of the engine (compression, plugs, etc), and check for hanging brakes/quality of wheel bearings.

·
Registered
308 Posts
i have little knowledge with limiters and all on the newer BKO'd but ive hit 85 with my stock 88 EB 5.0 AOD, 3.50 gears at about3,300 rpm and i got up to 3,800 rpm untill i hit traffic.

·
Practicing Infidel
15,297 Posts
Mine will put the speedo needle up against the trip meter reset bar

That has to be 110 mph or better. But then I have stock tire size and an accurate speedo.

Sixlitre

·
Behold my
1,276 Posts
For some reason mine tops out when it hits the peg. The weird thing is that the RPM's stay still after it pegs too, seeming like it wont go any faster when it has a good two and a half grand to go before redline...

·
Former owner of Shadofax
17,025 Posts
The newer trucks have a speed limiter. Not sure mine still works, but when I was stock it would kick in between 85-90 as I recall. Only really had it happen once, and have not been that fast since.

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
For some reason mine tops out when it hits the peg. The weird thing is that the RPM's stay still after it pegs too, seeming like it wont go any faster when it has a good two and a half grand to go before redline...