Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I’m a noob here but have been lurking for a while and have been impressed with all of the great help and advice offered on this site. I’ve tried searching this topic but haven’t found one that directly applies.

After previously being a Bronco owner for many years I’ve recently returned to the club with a ’96 and am sad to say it’s been a disaster for me so far. Though I hope to turn that around.

Shortly after purchasing my ’96 I took it into my trusted local mechanic for front brake work and to investigate a mechanical ticking noise coming from the front end. The mechanic noticed that the front right spindle nut had last been put on cross threaded and seemed to have been put on with the force of an impact wrench. When he proceeded to loosen the nut it broke in two and the spindle thread was badly damaged by the previous application.

Our search began for a spindle and I quickly learned:
1. a ’96 is old enough that Ford doesn’t make this part
2. a ’96 is not yet old enough for the aftermarket to begin making this type of part
3. Ford used at least four types of spindles (w,w/o ABS, w, w/o auto hubs)
4. salvage yards in Texas don’t stock many 4x4 parts – I’m not from here originally so this didn’t even occur to me
5. and buying parts over the phone from salvage yards is a crap-shoot.