Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok - let me start with a little background. I am a Human Resources Administrator for a major manufacturer. I work in a male dominated industry over seeing 211 employees. Only 12 female employees including myself.

So this morning I get to work at 6am like I always do and one of the guys is waiting outside my office to talk to me. Apparently he is being sexually harassed by one of the female employees. I guess it started off as flirting (on her part) but in the last week has escalated. This morning he was on break and she sat on his lap and started rubbing against him and he asked her to stop and get out of his lap which she refused to do - so in the end he pushed her off of his lap and told her to knock it off he wasn't interested. He wanted to be the first one to tell me what happened so I told him I would look into it. When my boss came in later I brought him up to speed on what was going on and he laughed and blew it off. I asked him if he wanted me to bring her in and talk to her. He laughed and said "let it go" ???? I've had a few problems with him before and have gone over his head so before I left his office he reminded to let it go and leave Corporate out of it - meaning his bosses. I have a REAL problem with this!!! It is MY job to make sure that the employees have a safe, problem free work environment. Here is a guy working 12 hours a day, 6 days a week barely seeing his wife and kids and he has to come here and deal with this!!!

So I guess what I'm wondering is....Am I the one blowing this out of proportion? Should I just let it go? I think if the situation were reversed and the male employee was the one doing the harassing they would be all over it to get it resolved.

·
Administrator
22,843 Posts