Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All. I'm new here: I just bought a '94 XLT with a 5.0 - automatic. ...and a few problems. I'll try to keep my questions specific.

Here is the first one... (I have searched and read the ABS posts but haven't found this exact problem)

The brakes work fine until it slows to 10 mph. Everytime, at 10 mph the ABS (I think) makes the breaks start to shutter. The voltage meter flickers and the lights will dim slightly. The ABS light does not come on during this process. (It does light up with the other indicators when I start the engine.)

Since I'm a newbie in the Bronco world... I don't have a repair manual yet, but from the posts that I've read, I understand that there are 3 ABS sensors on my Bronco. Two in the front and one in the back. The two in the front cost about $75 each and the one in the back is about $15. Correct?

Does this sound like a sensor problem? ...or is there something else that might be causing the brakes to shutter?

I appreciate your advice.

Thanks,
HiLander

·
Sneaky Ba$tard
2,982 Posts
Don't go throwing parts at the truck, it's a waste of money. I think if the ABS had a problem the light would come on. Get a manuel first and take the wheels off. Look for worn parts. If the rotors or drums are warped it can cause the the shudder your talking about. You can also pull the codes from the abs and ECM systems with a haynes manuel, it has really good instructions. For the ECM codes you can also use www.fordfuelinjection.com, he's got great instructions and is really helpful.(he's a regular on this board). Hope this helps--Good luck---Fog

P>S>--Welcome to the site, enjoy. Don't forget to stop by the introductions and say hi...Fog

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Fog.