Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I bought my Bronco it had the AC only blowing from the defrost issue. I tracked down one vacuum leak, fixed it and it would then come through the vents until I hit 35 - 45 mph and it would go back to defrost until I let off the throttle. With the help of research on here, today I finally got that fixed (another replacement hose) and now my AC stays on vent and is blowing moderately cold air. I would like to get it colder, and I expect it probably needs to be charged.

So, question number 1, will the recharge kit have instructions as far as what pressure should be? This will probably sound dumb, but where to I plug it in to add it? I'm assuming the nozzle next to the black canister on the passenger side of the engine? I was just going to get the little recharge kit from the zone. I am a total newb to this stuff.

Question 2, I still have no heat.. The temp selector does not seem to be doing anything. How can I check if it is working and if not, how can I confirm if I need to replace the heater core?

I have read a ton of threads but I am still left with these simple questions.

I looked for technical write ups and searched 20 different ways but am still struggling to find anything.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
4,778 Posts
First off, you need to verify what type of coolant you have in your lines. Chances are it's R12 and you'll have to take it to some place to get it recharged anyway. They haven't sold that stuff on the open market in a few years. The R134 stuff is not compatible. The heater core may possibly be plugged. You can try flushing your system and seeing what comes out of it. I'm sure others here will post with some advice on the core. The only option I can think of would be to remove it and check it.

·
Registered
710 Posts