Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im new to the bronco world, startin young i guess, 17, but i love it. making this my first project truck.

anyways, ive got a 45 gal after market gas tank on my 85 xlt that had to be removed to drain the old gas out, (had been sitting a while), i got it all off, just two simple supports bolted to the frame with four nut and bolt sets, got it all unhooked from the lines and whatnot and took it home to drain it.

fast forward 2 days, tank is drained and cleaned out, ready to go back on. replaced some old dry rot fuel lines, lookin pretty good, but the damn thing wont go back on. just something about the skid plate and the supports and all dont line up anymore and i cant figure out why.

pretty much the last step before she's out on the roads and in the mud, so i would love to get some advice.

can anyone help?

Thanks, Ethan

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Once those staps are bent to remove the Tank they can be a biotch to get back in place!!!! You just have to man up and force then close enough to get the bolts started and then let the bolt draw them up tight into place. As far as the skid plate. Its probley beat a bit I would guess and when you unbolted it, it releaves it self so the bolt holes may not line up exactly now. Its not a big deal, get the bolts started that will and then pry or hammer until its close enough to get the others started. I hope this helps, Good Luck.

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
get one of the bolts started on the strap, then either get a buddy to press up on the tank/skidplate and move the other straps around. Might ake some caressing from a hammer... Maybe even some racheting straps might help....

·
Kitteh Commandaar!
4,192 Posts