Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New here, to the forum and 4X's in general. Life long blue oval nut, finally made my way over to the truck department. I've got a couple quick Q:'s (and I'm pretty sure many more in-depth for later)

So, I blew the tranny in my mustang, and (being a mechanic myself) I never let anyone else work on her. Unfortunately I just don't have time to fix it right now. I started looking for a cheap ride and found an '85 bronco, 6 cyl., I didn't want to throw away money on a car I didn't want just to have temporary wheels. Was kinda dissappointed in the lack of a V-8, but then after 5 seconds of doing the math on my ponys' 347s thirst I figured it may not be that bad after all.

Truck is in alright shape. :toothless Body's straight, no rust, interior descent (ewww, blue). New radiator, carb, battery, brakes, cap/rotor, plugs/wires, all vac lines. Needs tie-rods, tires, headliner, window motor, rear ring&pinion will have to be swapped before too long.
But- it starts right up, idles, drives great (a little loose in the steering, but expected). No tranny slipping. No stalling or chugging.

Alright, the actual questions---
I'm sure a 6 cyl wasn't the fastest option when it came off the lot, but how slow are these really? With 45000 on the ticker (145000?, 245000?, who knows) I'm sure a fresh long block would spice things up, but right now "gutless" is all that comes to mind.
What are the common inherint flaws? I havn't tried the transfer case yet (kind of afraid too, I just need to get to work right now).

·
Zombie Hunter
13,681 Posts
The 6 is a pretty capable motor, and reliable. Do a search on it, and you'll see that quite a few people here run it, and run it well.