Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1989 Bronco XLT with 1995 5.8L e4OD
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, sorry for another thread about MAF conversion. I have been looking through the forum for a week or so now and am still a little confused about what I am doing wrong here and hope that someone can spell it out for me. I recently purchased a 1989 bko that the previous owner had attempted to replace the motor with a 1995 351. The original e4OD was not changed. The wiring was not completed however all there. It had a WAY1 ecm. I just recently wired everything up to just try and get it running. When I start the motor it fired right up however has a very rough idle due to running too rich. It is so rich that when I give it throttle it blows black like a diesel. I was wondering what could be going on? I am new to the EFI and computer stuff so I am not sure if the ecm needs to be flashed or reprogrammed or what. I have checked O2 sensors. Also I have read that I will need to change the solenoid pack in the e4OD to accommodate for the new ECM, is this all that will need to be done or once again will it need to be tuned somehow? Thanks for any help.

·
Charlie don't surf..
'92 Ford Bronco XLT
15,277 Posts
Hi @Kasey14 , first welcome to the site. When you get a chance, make sure to fill your profile info with the details about your Bronco, year, engine, tranny and so forth..

With regards to the MAF..you say the previous owner put a '95 351 in and the WAY1 EEC, did they also install the MAF harness and sensor? If not that's part of the problem. That MAF setup uses a different injector harness then the SD. There is also a provision in the MAF air box for the the air intake sensor that you're going to need.

Also, you cannot reflash these EEC's. Using a later model EEC on an older tranny will not cause any issues related to the solenoid pack. I'm running the EEC from a '95 on my '92 Bronco with the same year E4OD.