Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Zombie Hunter
13,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have kind of hit a stopping point in my career path. Due to my lack of technical training, i can't really further myself anymore. I am self taught on pretty much everything i do. I take pride in that, but it is hard to put it on a resume and explain to a company that the reason i know it, is because i am self taught, and expect them to take that seriously.

With everything else i am paying for. I don't have the money to put myself through college. Work isn't going to pay to train me, we've already discussed that option, and their tuition reimbursment program is basically a "face" to draw prospective employees in, there really isn't anything behind it, kind of like their medical and dental plan, but we won't go there.

I am only toying with the options of going into the Army reserves at this point. I would like to think that the training i get in the Army Reserve would actually help me in the outside world. I still have about 3 months to consider this, since the shoulder surgery won't happen until mid-january. I will be down for 8-12 weeks after that (that includes rehab).

I have hit a peak and i just can't seem to go any higher, and i don't want to wait too long to make a decision on what i am going to do, life isn't getting any longer.

I also have given thought to the idea of actually being activated. I feel like i am not doing my part. I am young, I am healthy, I should be helping.

Now here is the deal, I have a daughter, that would be taken care of while i am in Basic and extended training. But i figure with the reserves after the training is complete, i could still be there to be a Dad.