Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone!
i have read every thread about wiring off road lights on this forum, and i thank everyone for the help.

i still have a problem with my wiring...i keep blowing 30amp fuses.

heres a bit of info:
- 2 x 6" procomp lights
- 2 x 8" procomp lights
- each set of lights has its own 40amp relay and wiring harness.
- the 40amp relay has a circuit breaker between it and the battery.
- the switches are 30amp, (with little red indicator light)
- the switches are powered, therfore, i have a 30 amp fuse between them and the battery.

Here's my Wiring Diagram:

symptom:
when i "beleive" everything is finnished and completed,..i turn the lights "ON" to test if everything works....it does!!! whoooh hooo! :beer
however, when i think everything is fine, i turn them back "OFF", i blow my fuses for the switches! :banghead

i am not an electrical expert...but i know a resistor between the battery and the fuses will lower the voltage,..but is this really necessary?? has anyone else taken this route???

POSIBILITY #1
i think i wired my switches wrong, and that may be the culprit.
i'll post again, after i try tinkering with that.

POSIBILITY #2
instead of running a seperate power-wire from the switches to the battery, should i try tieing them into the relay power-wire instead??
i'm thinking of just getting circuit breakers for the switches too, so that i never blow another damn fuse! but is that really necessary?

can anyone post a picture of their wiring job? how it looks in the engine bay?

if anyone has any input, it would be greatly appreaciated.

·
USAF C-17 Maintenance
'94, '92, '88, and '84 Broncos
6,983 Posts
1. Yes, they could be wired wrong. Your wiring diagram is good, except you don't label the relay pins or switch connections (where I think your problem is)