Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im in my second semester of automotive classes and we just started electrical yesterday. My teacher DOES not give extra credit so today i guess he though it would be funny to offer this question which im sure he though nobody would get. What im posting for is help on this question, a free answer would be great but id also like atleast a slight explanation. Even if someone just got me started and didnt answer it i would greatly appreciate it. ( We have only did basic high school electricity so far..)

- Volts and amps with arrows represent where we must state the amps and volts in that part of the circuit.
-R is ofcourse resistance
-The horribly drawn swiggly lines are resistors

Too anyone who views this thread and took automotive in college, in general is this about as hard as electricity got or even harder?:tinfoil

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
To add on i know ohms law and how to find watts, e, i , and r in series and parallel circuits but this is way past my knowledge.

·
Registered
459 Posts
i'm pretty sure that the voltage drop across R3 is 12V. I'm a little rusty on parallel (and series-parallel) circuits. i also believe that the total resistance of R1 and R2 is 6 ohms (product over sum method). IF i'm correct so far, that would give you 2 amps on the far right side of the circuit and up to R3. 2 amps times 18 ohms give you 36V.... DAMNIT! that can't be right. The circuit is only a 12 volt circuit. I used to be able to do this--i swear! good luck.

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
Never took any automotive electrical, but electronics gets way, way more complex. And of course I have forgotten it all now. And I always hated algebra & that kinda stuff.