Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Man of endless projects
9,492 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
broke my distributor tonight. took the cap off and found a magnet thing broken and the shell cracked. i wanna get it replaced ASAP but wut is a good dizzy for a 96? not sure if the OBD-II affects anything. dont really want to but a 300$ dizzy when i can get a good one for half the price

·
Registered
172 Posts
factory is prob the best. Might try advance or autozone for a rebuilt stock one. They usually run about 120 bucks.

·
Man of endless projects
9,492 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
all they had was a remaned Motorcraft for like 140. works fine with me. now i gotta figuer out how to time it better. cant even see the pointer yet alone get a timnig light in there to change it.

·
Registered
616 Posts
I'm no timing expert by any means but dont you turn the harmonic balancer with a ratchet until you can see the pointer?:scratchhe

·
Registered
7,922 Posts
:stupid

Just turn the balancer until you see the timing marks. Put a little white out on them and it will make it easier to time. Find TDC on cylinder #1 and then stab the dizzy in with the rotor pointing to #1 on the distributor cap. You'll have it stabbed in correctly and then it is a matter of fine tuning it.

·
Man of endless projects
9,492 Posts
Discussion Starter #8