Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased my Pro Comp 4" lift kit. I'll be running 33's w/ 3.55 gears. I really wanted the 6" lift, but my wife is short and doesn't want it to be that tall. To make it work I had to compromise. We only really ride trails that are moderately difficult. Will this be a decent set-up?

I have serched a lot here, but I'm still not sure I made the right call...

Either try to talk me out of my purchase or tell me I made the right decision. This is my first 4 x4 so I am a noob for sure.

Also, I tow a 17' bass boat with this truck. Should I change gears or will I be OK? Currently I'm running 32" tires and it tows fine. Is there going to be excessive strain on the tranny or other parts?

Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
2,445 Posts
Sounds like you made the right decision....for a compromise anyway. You will be fine with towing, but you may want to look into 4.10 gears in the near future. I also predict you will be wanting the 6" lift and 35s within a year.:toothless
Keep us posted when you lift it.:beer

·
Premium Member
5,265 Posts
I have the 4 inch lift and run 35s. I personally like it. Keeps the COG lower and I like the fender wells being a bit fuller of tire... however, many of the guys on here prefer the 6 inch lifts when running 35s.

A question for you is, do you see yourself going up much higher in tire size? If you are going to stick with 32/33s, the 4 inch lift is the way to go. If you are going 35s, then the 4 inch still works but the tires will fill the fenders and sometimes a little bumper/fender trimming is neccesary....