Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I replaced the pads on my 90 bronco and bled the brakes. The pedal is still softer than any vehicle I've ever had. It does stop, but not like it should. To clear up any possible misunderstandings, I am not a mechanic. I can fix certain things on cars, but new cars with computerchips etc... are beyond my abilities. I realize this is my truck and might have a unique problem, so I am only asking for opinions. I don't want to throuw money at a problem I don't understand. Here, where I live if you take a car or truck into a brake place because you are having problems, they pull everything apart and tell you it's $1800 to $2500 because everything needs replaced. So with all the necassary waivers hopefully in place. What should I check on the brakes to stiffen up the pedals and get better braking. I've read brake fluid obsorbs moisture and becomes less effective. Should I replace the fluid and rebleed them? Any advice would be appriciated.

·
Satyr of the Midwest
17,734 Posts
You should adjust the rear brakes (see the Haynes manual on this procedure), then bleed them STARTING with the rear wheel cylinders, THEN bleed the front calipers. Always bleed starting with the wheel furthest from the master cylinder.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Istarted at rear passenger, rear driver, front passenger and front driver. I know one honest mechanic here, but he is an engine man, but hopfully he can help me out.

·
Registered
2,893 Posts
What SigEpBlue said.
make sure the rears are adjusted out and bled.

The rears are self adjusting, so if they are not adjusted out you may have a stripped gear on the adjuster, a seized adjuster, or a worn out lever thingy not able to hook the gear tooth, or a broken cable......many possible things.