Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to the Bronco, and had my heart set on finding a 78/79 Bronco here in Aus to rebuild for on and offroad. I've had experience rebuilding older Ford cars, but no trucks, and had some questions.

1. Are 78/79 Bronco's - in good nic with no rust - affordable over there, and can anyone suggest somewhere online I could get some more info about buying and importing to Aus (or a seller willing to export)?

2. Secondly, should I be looking at another year model Bronco - does the 78/79 have anything substantially wrong with it?

I can get my hands on late 80's models here in Aus, but nothing before about '85.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
The Broncos themselves are pretty cheap, but you will have a tough time finding a great one not being able to look at them in person. I would expect to find a truly stellar one for less than $10,000 US, and there are plenty of good ones for about $5,000 US (or less if you are lucky). I would hire an import agency to do it for you if you really want a clean one. There are several companies bringing Asian 4x4's into Canada right now, and you can probably get them to bring one back just as easy. I have seen a lot of really solid 70's models in Alberta pretty cheap (i.e. <$7,000 CAD).

There are actually a couple of spectacular 70's models for sale linked in the sellers section of this site right now. Poke around in there before you go.

E-bay is a good spot to start too.

Have you looked into the shipping and licensing costs yet?

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
I think the best thing to do is surf the forums and make yourself known and make a few friends. These friends can at least help in looking at a bronco for ya if they live close enough.