Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok Have an 88.It is not my daily driver so for the past couple of weeks it has been sitting in the drive,I go to start it today,ANd holy SH*T its idling at like 2500 -300 RPMS and won't kick down,When it did ( alittle after about 10 minutes )I put it in drive.Rpms jacked up again and I was almost like spinning my rear tires on the icy street with the brakes on, Dam near took out a parked car,Parked it on the side of the road and walked back home,ANY HELP.I am kind of new to the BRONCO thang, Been wheelin J#*PS ,,,HOPE its simple

·
Registered
712 Posts
To take it back home pull the harness off the IAC and adjust the throttle blades like you would a carb, with the stop screw. A fuel-injected SBF can turn at very very low rpms and still move the vehicle, I've had the 302 in my Lincoln so slow I can damn near hear every cylinder firing and it could still idle in gear. As far as reason for the stupid high-idle - I have the very same issue with the Townie, been told that it may be the ECT or air-charge sensors going bad, I place my bet on the air-charge cause when it started acting up it was only with high-humidity in the air. Haven't gotten around to replacing those as my car don't even have a battery now (F150 uses it, will get a new one for the Townie when summer comes), but maybe tis something you also should look into?

·
Registered
11,108 Posts