Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i think i am burning oil, i added 1 quart yesterday and then the engine sounded weird. like the carb was flooding. back in i think august i noticed when drove the bronco home from work i smelled some oil burning but i think i just spilled some on the headers. is it bad for your engine to have too much oil? what the hell did i do to my poor bronco? guys help me before i screw my bronco up even more. i am not a mechanic so i don't know much about how cars work.

·
Super Moderator
14,716 Posts
Yes it is very bad if you add too much oil..Why did you add a quart? Did you check the dip stick first to see if it was low?? If its you're rear main you probably would not be smelling oil burning , if it is a bad valve seal, bad rings or you are getting some blow by, then you would most likely smell oil burning off. Pull a couple of your plugs and see what they look like, if they are black and sooty, that means there is oil in your combustion chamber and you have a problem, since you're not a mechanic, seek out one that you trust immediately.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
my boss is kinda my mechanic. i will check the spark plugs and have him check out the oil. dammit i hate it when i do that. i know the rear main seal just needs new gaskets, so maybe now is the time to fix it

B

·
0 Posts
My rear main leaks a little and drips out the bell housing down to the exhaust on occasion. Smells great! Check for oil dripping on exhaust. Then the spark plug check is good and follow with a compression test to see if it's valves or rings.

·
But what does mine say?
954 Posts