Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking for a few months (5-6) and I found a '79 already done. Only issue is that owner says it is leaking from rear main seal...a little puddle when it sits. I am not a mechanic, but am learning and can do just about anything with instructions (calipers, radiators, differentials). Is there a really good way to tell exactly what is leaking if I cannot get my mechanic to it? I feel I could repair the main seal on my own after reading on the forum, just looking for some extra confidence when I go look at it.

Thanks for any advice!!!

http://ashtabula.craigslist.org/cto/1730052023.html

Jeff

·
Registered
28 Posts
It's a hella of a job!

If you haven't done one before get a mechanic friend or pay! It's not that it is complicated but the rope seal if not done right will leak again! Plus if you nick the new seal going in it will leak! It is always best to slightly loosen the other main caps and take some pressure off the crank! If there are any tricks I don't know of any but some of the guys on the board are more well versed than I on these Bronco's. This is my first also! I have done many other rope seals though! Good luck! Looks nice too!

·
Ford Hoarder
78 & 92
7,187 Posts
that seems a little pricey for something with a leaking rear main seal.
Also it says the motor was just redone, I would wonder if the other stuff was done right since the seal was not.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I did get him to drop his price, I have not seen it in person yet, so nothing is in stone. I should be seeing it on Thursday and will find out more about the engine and who did it. My understanding is that the body was most of the "redone" but the engine was not rebuilt...

·
Registered
2,091 Posts