Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie here.
Just purchased a 92 with 5.0, has a blown head gasket and a lifter ticking. 160k on it.
Here's my question, should I go with a new cam while I'm in it, or 1.7 rockers? I'm on a very tight budget, and a roller cam is around $400 (mine has a roller cam in it). I noticed a regular flat tappet cam "and" lifters kit is only $190. Should I, or could I go back to a flat tappet cam?

So what I'm asking... Should I stay with stock cam and replace ticking lifter, and install 1.7 rockers.
Or, can I swap out my roller cam to the flat tappet set and get a more aggressive cam?

$500 is about my limit, so what would I see the most improvement with?
(I already have headers and dual exhaust.)

Thanks for any help.

·
Man of endless projects
9,286 Posts
stay roller. you cant go really go with much more of an aggressive cam, the Speed Density style EFI wont like it.

since your pulling the heads and the original are probably warped and need a valvejob, I would get a set of GT40 heads and intake from a 96-97 Explorer and get a valvejob on them. the best bang for your buck. the 98 and later with GT40P heads might not fit your headers due to a special spark plug angle. also if you can snag the fuel injectors from them too, they supposedly make the engine run about 20% more effecient

if you haven't done it yet I would also look into the 6litre tune up. it helps some. also try the ziptie trick to take the slack out of the throttle cable, it makes it feel like you gain 20hp. replacing the timing chain wouldn't be a bad idea to return some power if its heavily worn

·
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
10,092 Posts
Sounds like you're trying to open a can of worms.

Roller lifters are expensive and you're on a tight budget. They hardly never wear out. You can take them apart and clean them. That may fix your tick. Are you sure you're hearing a lifter tick?