Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got some time to work on the bronco again.
I have removed the hood, radiator and entire front clip.

My question is can I remove the engine, transmission and transfer case all at one time?
I have a 2 ton engine hoist/crane on wheels that I plan to use to lift and slide the whole assembly out.

I am putting in a different engine and transmission but reusing my old transfer case. I would rather pull everything out at once if possible.

Is it easier to remove the bolts from the motor mounts where they attach to the frame or the engine?

This is my first time doing a big job like this, so any tips are welcome. I am a total newbe but just learning by doing. I would greatly appreciate any tips.

I will being updating on my build thread soon, thanks

·
Wrenching for a Livin'
6,949 Posts
Your 79 should be a walk in the park. I removed the engine/trans/tcase from my 85 all in one shot, and installed it the same way. Its def. a bit awkward and annoying, but it can be done without too much trouble. Make sure you are on level paved ground, or use thick plywood. Its almost impossible in gravel or dirt.

Drain all the fluids first, remove all the wiring. Pull the transmission crossmember, make sure the exhuast is out of the way(drop it out if possible), remove the trans and engine dipstick(ive broken a couple of them getting in a hurry). dont forget the transfer case shifter. Pull the cover over the transmission for added access to see whats going on.

I've unbolted the motor mounts both ways. If you need the clerance, remove them all together so they don't snag on something

·
Premium Member
2,211 Posts
T-case is 145 lbs alone. I'd remove the t-case first, otherwise your CG will be way off and you run the risk of having the rear drop on you.

·
press ALT+F4
4,279 Posts