Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i have a 1984 Ford Bronco, with a 2 BL Stock holly carb, i wanted to know if i could switch it to a edelbrock #1405 600 CFM

ANY IDEA? thanks guys
:thumbup

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is this hard to do? and would it cost alot $$$$ im a noob you see

·
Administrator
22,857 Posts
depends...any emissions required where you live? if not grab a haynes manual...read up...and go for it...pretty simple and you can change a intake and carb with simple hand tools.

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes there are emissions in colorado... it won't pass if i switch this?

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
alright, well thanks

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
do you have the EXACT same carb? of just switched from 2-4 br... and is 4br alot better?

·
Registered
384 Posts
I used to run the stock 2 bbl motorcraft carb.
i switched to a 4bbl carb (edelbrock 1406) and actually had slightly better mileage, plus more power when needed.

you see, a 2 bbl may be seen like a compromise:
u have 2 medium sized barrels that feed the engine in different driving conditions, such as light throtle cruising, uphill driving, passing, etc.

so they tend to be slightly big for cruising, and too small for WOT (wide open throtle)..

4 bbl carbs usually have two small pair of barrels (called primaries) and two larger sized barrels (called secondaries).....the primaries are usually smaller than the ones from a 2 bbl carb.

When you need the power, stomp the skinny pedal, all four barrels open, increasing the fuel/air mix in to the engine, making more power..

so, as long as you dont floor it all the time, a properly tuned 4 bbl gives you better mileage than a 2 bbl (of course, this assumes that engine internals, ignition, etc are in good working order), because you have two pairs of barrels suited for different needs.