Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just looking for some input on what CBs have a good track record for durability, range, and clarity. I don't want to spend a fortune, but realize there's something to the saying, 'You get what you pay for.' Thanks guys.

Steve

·
Teddy Bear
2,209 Posts
i bought a cobra off of my cousin and it looks and works good for being 5 years old, im thinking of doing a dual 4ft antenna setup, but i dont know yet, just my .02

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
The Cobra 25 or 29 LTD Classic will out live you. Truck stops are a great place to pick one up if you don't have a CB shop in your area.

The 25 LTD Classic MSRP $99.99 but you can usually get one for under $80.

The 29 LTD Classic MSRP $129.99 but you can usually get one for under $100.00.

I have a 29 in my Bronco. It's at least 17 years old and has lived on the road with me when I was a driver and then lived in 2 other rigs before the Bronco.

I bought a Texas Ranger CB for my tow rig. I am not at all happy with it. It has quality issues that I'm having a hard time living with. I'm probley goning to pull it out and replace it with a 25LTD NW.

Another thing to remember is your antenna and mic play a major part in how good your system works. Also a good external speaker makes all the difference in the world. I'm able to hear my cb rolling down the hi-way in the Bronco over the sound of bias ply's and the cd player cranked as well as hear the one in my Super Duty cruzin' on the hi-way over the Power Stroke and the entertainment system cranked all due to having an external speaker properly placed.

If you want to spend more money Magnum and Galaxy make great products and for "bang for the buck" Uniden is you best bet if you want a unit under $75.00.

·
They call me "MR FLAT TIRE"
4,582 Posts
I got my current CB from a yard sale for $5..its a KMart brand IIRC.