Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1994 XL, E40D, 5.0, rear lsd, front auto hubs
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Today I just did a compression check on my 302. What's the damage? This is my first time.
Yesterday I pulled out the spark plugs, picture below. Changed them with ones I gapped to 0.055 and changed all the plug wires. The car did not run noticeably better just fyi.
I'd love it if you guys could give me advice on the smoking issue. It smokes a lot, does not smell like coolant, is not black, is between white and blue, mostly white, hard to see any blue.
My first impressions from looking at the results and doing some research:
MILEAGE: 137K.
-Spark plugs:
Driver bank porcelain is coffee colored, seems okay, all dry, very little carbon deposits.
Passenger bank has a lot of carbon deposits, rich condition from leaky injectors? plug 3 was very wet, did not dry overnight so not gas, oil maybe, the wire at that plug was a little damaged where it rubbed on something so maybe poor ignition and that's why it was wet?
-Compression
Driver bank is overall dramatically higher compression than passenger bank. Also large difference between dry and wet compression. Firewall cylinder (8) a lot less compression than the other three.
Passenger bank has a lot less compression than driver bank. The difference between dry and wet compressions is very little for all cylinders on that bank.

I hope some of you guys can talk some magic about what is going on, could be going on, parts failing, bad rings or bad valve seals or bad valve stem guides, head gasket, bad injectors, etc.

Bottle Font Glass bottle Automotive tire Circle

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
If the PCV is routed right over cyl #8 buy a few feet of vacuum hose and swap it with the power brake port on the intake. The PCV dumps junk and it is better more central so all the cylinders share it as opposed to just dumping it all on #8.