Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
95 XLT 5.8L
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve got a leak coming from the trans cooler line housing(?) at the radiator where the trans cooler line goes into the rad (see photos). It’s definitely coolant, not ATF as you can prob tell from the pics. It appears to have been coming from behind (rad side of) that rusty washer looking part of it that’s pinned against the radiator.

A.) wtf goin on here? what is leaking? I’m pretty new to this still so I’m not really sure what exactly happens at this junction when it’s working properly or what specifically the ATF does in the radiator before it gets to the trans cooler.

B.) Can I fix this without replacing the radiator? Originally I just assumed the problem was just that metal housing and that it could be replaced or tightened, but I’ve found conflicting articles/threads that seem to suggest the entire radiator might need to be replaced

any help is greatly appreciated gents.
Motor vehicle Light Automotive tire Gas Auto part

Tire Automotive tire Wheel Tread Rim

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Gas Tints and shades Automotive lighting

·
Premium Member
1995 5.8, 2.5" Rough Country Lift, Extended RA's, 4.10's, 33" BFG's
6,284 Posts
The tanks are plastic so you probably have a crack in that area, you can barrow a pressure tester from Autozone, O'reillys etc. that will expose the exact spot of the leak, bottom line is you will probably need a new radiator but they are fairly inexpensive and easy to replace. Since you have a 5.8 you probably have the tow package which means you have a double trans cooler, the fluid runs through the radiator then through the cooler in the front of the truck.
Some will also say that the fluid runs through the radiator to warm it up in cold climates

·
85 Bronco, 309ci I6 w/4bbl, np435, 4" lift, 37" Irok NDs, 4.56 w/ Detroit Locker and tru trac
18,105 Posts