Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

So, I've been using my cruise control for the last several years and it's always worked great.
Then suddenly, poof, it died. I have no cruise. FWIW, the horn still works, as I know they're on a joined circuit.

On my Sniper, I can see the TPS, and as I drop speed, it sits at 0%. The CC is just doing nothing.

Things I've checked:

• Gone through all the fuses and verified they're still good.
  • Pulled the steering wheel and cleaned all the contacts.
  • Checked the cable at the throttle and verified it's connected.
  • Disassembled the servo and verified that the cable is still attached to the servo.
  • Checked that the Brake On Off signal going into the speed control module switches between 0 and 12v when the brake pedal is pressed/released.
  • Checked the brake pedal vacuum switch and verified it adjusted properly.
  • Checked the brake pedal vacuum hose at the servo and verified it's holding vacuum.
  • Checked the vacuum line from the engine to the servo and verified it has vacuum.

Automotive tire Rim Motor vehicle Automotive wheel system Machine

Coil Motor vehicle Automotive tire Gas Machine

Motor vehicle Bicycle handlebar Automotive lighting Automotive tire Automotive design

My cruise control is just dead.

I'm assuming at this point that either the horn pad isn't working, the servo died, or the actual speed module has died. Maybe something else I'm not thinking of but I'm not sure what yet.

Does anyone know how to test these? Other things I can check?

I have a wiring diagram, so I don't need that posted up.
But what I don't know is how to test these systems when the vehicle isn't moving.

Thanks all, this has me stumped.

·
Super Moderator
5,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Just checked the horn pad and verified all the buttons are working

I grounded out the blue wire and then pressed each button: