Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
FSB's Dirty Jersian
3,578 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new to the tire grooving, cutting, and siping bit. I was hoping some of you could point me in the right direction who have used large hot knives or larger sized siping tools.

First, I do have 2 sets of tires, 39" Mickey Thompson Baja Belted's. Which aren't street tires, they aren't mud tires, they say they are sand tires, but they absolutely suck on and in everything. I'd venture to say as poor as thornbirds. These will still be on my truck for street duty (which I'd be surprised if I used 5000 miles a year) so they still have to be somewhat streetable. I'm not the first person to cut ground hawgs, but a lot of people turn them into v-treads. And shitty v-treads at that.

I was just postings to get everyone's opinion, and see if someone could direct me towards a quality grooving knife, preferably one with variable blade sizes. Does anyone have an input or real life reviews on any? Any that I should try to aim for? Any I should stay away from?

Both of these tires are 40" Hawgs which is the same size I run. The tread would be similar to the edits I've done. Maybe a few more sipes, but I think you can get the point. They'd have about as much lug void area as a bogger. Maybe even a bit more...

Sorry for my "Paint" edit's, I don't have photoshop on my work computer-

And I really like this design, maybe if I can pick up 38-40" All terrains I may cut them like this:

Thoughts?

·
aka: kemicalburns
7,878 Posts
you wouldnt want to drive them on the road after that much cutting thats for sure.

I would open up the sipps 1/2" on the middle tread sections. i would then make some cuts / \ on the outer tread blocks. this will give you better bitting edges but still not take away from the tire to much.

·
FSB's Dirty Jersian
3,578 Posts
Discussion Starter #3