Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, sorry for the newbie stupid question of the week. I have some experience with Mustang 8.8's but zero with a Dana 44. I have a '79 FSB with a 400 ci, 3 speed auto and Dana 44 front axle. This truck is strickly used for snowplowing my personal property and is no longer street and inspection worthy. I'm curious to know if the Dana 44 came in both a standard/open version and limited slip? If I get stuck in a snow bank, I only get drive power on the right rear (obviously indicating that I have a standard non-LS 9" rear) and the left front. So I'm not sure if I simply have a standard Dana 44 or perhaps another problem, like a worn out right front hub. Without climbing under and looking for the ID tag, can I test the front axle like I would a rear by jacking it up and manually spinning the wheel? Does this test work the same for the front regardless if I have a worn out hub? Thanks in advance. Steve

·
Roller rockers are gay
19,197 Posts
That's an open dif. Fronts work the same as rears, the wheel with the least resistance gets the power. If a front hub wasn't engaging (locking the tire to the axle shaft) you'd have ZERO front wheelspin.

·
Registered
9,816 Posts
That's an open dif. Fronts work the same as rears, the wheel with the least resistance gets the power. If a front hub wasn't engaging (locking the tire to the axle shaft) you'd have ZERO front wheelspin.
That. Though If you really wanted to you can test it. Put the front on jackstands and try to rotate one of the tires. If the opposite tire rotates in the opposite direction its an open diff. If it rotates in the same direction its limited slip. On the front though it's probably an open diff.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4