Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on my bumper the past couple days....I've got the main bumper section done, hitch tube welded in, and hole cut for the 44 spindle.

The tube is 4x6. For some reason I thought that the spindle would fit on there all the way. It won't.

I can get two bolts in the spindle both are on the same side....The inside.

Should I bother with the two bolts at all or just weld it in?
Any special instructions or tips when welding the base of the 44 spindle to the bumper.

This is what I have so far.

I'm no pro welder obviously....

·
Thanks 351w500
5,447 Posts
I would center the spindle on the bumper and cut off what ever is hanging over and then drill new holes.But i have seen the whole flange cut off to and it just welded on. If you do plan on welding it just make sure it locks where you want it to first. Or ad a nice little reinforcing plate that is just big enough to accommodate the amount that hangs over.

·
Premium Member
1,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

·
Registered
91 Posts
The reason you are using a spindle is to use the lock-out to hold it closed and open correct?

then that is why.

·
Registered
339 Posts
I would definitely not weld it. One of the advantages of using this as a tire carrier is that you get to carry around a spare spindle and bearings, right? Why not build a little platform (maybe a plate on top of the bumper with a gusset) to get a couple more bolts in?

·
Premium Member
1,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I decided to use this hinge because I expected the tire carrier to be quite heavy. With a 35" tire, and possible 37" tire in the future, as well as a removable cooler/water jug/lantern rack, ladder for the roof rack, and jerry can mounts, I just didn't feel as though the trailer spindle hinges would hold up for me.

The other appeal is being able to lock it with a lock out hub.