Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I am fairly new to upgrading broncos. I have owned several over the years and fell in love with them stock. I jsut purchased a `94 that seemed cherry and started upgrading. I had the drive train checked over and got a clean bill of health, I upped my tires to 33x12 and asked my mechanic to get a price on doing the diff/R&P gears for me (I figure 4.10 gears should do the trick, just about same forward as stock).

Anyway here is the question. What should I expect to pay for the job? The numbers he gave me seem a bit steep to say the least.

Thanks,
NJ Buck

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
this haS been discussed alot.. search...people have had random estimates done ranging widely. It all depends on who you know and your location

no one on here can give you a good estimate. Your mechanic may give you some other number completly.

ill mid-ball $1000 if you buy the gears and diff yourself

DC

·
Registered
214 Posts
njbuck said:
Hey guys,

I am fairly new to upgrading broncos. I have owned several over the years and fell in love with them stock. I jsut purchased a `94 that seemed cherry and started upgrading. I had the drive train checked over and got a clean bill of health, I upped my tires to 33x12 and asked my mechanic to get a price on doing the diff/R&P gears for me (I figure 4.10 gears should do the trick, just about same forward as stock).

Anyway here is the question. What should I expect to pay for the job? The numbers he gave me seem a bit steep to say the least.

Thanks,
NJ Buck
First, there's a few while you're in there kinds of things you'll want to check and replace if necessary such as the ball joints, spindle bearings, seals, and other things.

Second, you'll need to decide if you want a limited slip, locker, or one of the newer electric/pneumatic locker/limited slip diffs since these can be installed during the gear swap.